I gotta start taking bigger steps.

I will eventually stop talking about him. Him being my last photo blog (at blogger), but I’m still in the merging process per se, so I can’t stop just yet. With that said, I have to say that in my last blog, just recently actually, I mentioned how scared  I was to take more chances in regards to this photography thing. I don’t know what it is, but I’m scared to take the next step, whatever step that is. 

I do kinda realize that I have a skill or two in the photography arena. And I know that if I put my mind to it, I can probably do something with it. But I also know that I need more practice, a lot of it, and I also need exposure, and therefore I need to put myself out there. So why the hesitation? I suppose I fear looking like an over confident fool, but don’t have the goods to back it up. I don’t know. 

But I’m going to step out of my box. I have to. Yesterday I took a small step. I finally announced to friends and family (through the wonderful world of Face Book) that I have this photo blog. I’ve had a personal blog for about a year now, and a photo blog for about 6 months, yet never really told anyone about it (again, the ‘shy’ card comes into play), but I decided to come out and expose myself a little. And it didn’t feel too weird. Well, yea it did, but it’s OK. I have to start somewhere right? 

And today, I plan to launch my Face Book photo page (And NO! I don’t have one because I consider myself some pro; I just need to centralize my work, and need a place to send prospective clients (whoa) in the event they’re interested in seeing my work). I’ve had this page for about 2 months now, but I just can’t find the balls to publish it (damn you shyness!!!). But in the back of my mind I’m thinking, ‘what the hell do you have to lose?? Why not??‘ So I’m just gonna click on that Publish button and roll with it. If I come out looking like a cornball, so be it. If I end up gaining something from it, then wonderful! 

Wish me luck.

I’m reposting this picture one more time (I posted it on blogger a few weeks ago). It’s from day 46, from my 365 Photo Project.

The world is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be only the beginning

{George Baker}

Someday, maybe the end of my intense shyness will be the beginning of something special.

NDuran

One thought on “I gotta start taking bigger steps.

  1. Nori,

    You did the right thing for taking the next step. You’ll never know whether you can do it or not, if you were never willing to take this risk. I’m SO behind you..since I’m in the same boat myself. Good luck, I’ll be watching. 🙂

Leave a Reply

