Film. Me? Um, yea | Personal

Look at this. Look what I got myself.

Like, what I really got myself. A roll of film, AND a manual too.

Oh yea, and a camera to go with it. A FILM camera 🙂

Cute little piece, isn’t it?

Here she is, my new baby, my new toy, and my new teacher.

It’s probably the most modest film camera out there (compared to a slew of really amazing film cameras). But I haven’t used one of these in years, and even then, it was one of those easy ones that even a 12 year old could use, like myself back then, so I wanted to start off ‘small’ and ‘simple’. Simple being a relative term.

If you know anything about film photography, it’s not all that ‘simple’. It requires thought, good timing, a little creativity, and understanding the basics of photography (lighting, exposure, metering…). Digital photography is an art all on it’s own, and learning about it, can be complicated, but as I know, digital photography does give room for some (or a lot of) mistakes, and then the do-overs and fix-ups. Film on the other hand, doesn’t always allow second chances. But I think that’s one of the many things that I find intriguing about using one of these cameras- that determination to force myself to a little harder before capturing an image.

I remember basic things about using a SLR, like looking through the viewfinder and pressing on the shutter button lol, but this feels so new to me. Im nervous that I may mess up a bunch of rolls, or potentially great shots… no, I’m sure I will mess up a few rolls, and some great shots, but THAT’S what makes this all so exciting for me. That organic learning experience- the learning as I go; the trials and errors, the not knowing what I’m gonna get, but aiming for the ‘best’ while going for a good shot.

I have faith that I’m going to get it. Eventually. Im an all-manual DSLR user, always have been, so hopefully manipulating this new camera wont be too tough?? And I grew up around SLRs- My dad is a gifted film photographer 🙂 All our baby pictures, trips, and random pictures were taken by him and his film cameras, so I’m hoping some of that blood is running through me hehehe.

I plan to dedicate a lot of my time to this camera, so it’s going to be one busy week. Keep a look out. Ok now, wish me luck!

NDuran

5 thoughts on “Film. Me? Um, yea | Personal

  1. You will love it. Promise.

    As you can probably tell from my blog, It’s all I shoot now – and I love loading the film, pressing the shutter, advancing the film……

    And my first roll of film? I was so happy to pick it up (after carefully taking 24 exposures), and it was blank! Ha! But that’s the beauty of it – never knowing what you are going to get…..

    Congrats and enjoy – can’t wait to see your film photos!

  2. Omy gosh, thanks so much for writing this 🙂 My first 2 rolls came back blank 😦 And my 3rd film came out all distorted. It’s disheartening, but it’s ok. I know its ALL part of the learning process. I do hope I get some nice pictures soon lol. I just sent in my fourth film… wish me luck.

    I may pick your brain here and there, hope you don’t mind 😉

    Thanks again!

  3. Awww, lol, that’s so funny about loading the film! And such a bummer too!

    I went to WPPI and really surprised myself with the number of platform speakers I went to who were film shooters- Jose Villa, Elizabeth Messina, Lisa Lefkowitz, Jonathan Canlas… there were more… they were ALL film shooters and I loved their work so much. Film is a wonderful format and I love the underground movement pushing the return to it. It would be a sad, sad day in a world without film. “Film is not dead!” Good luck and have FUN! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Film. Back at it. | Personal | NDuran Photography

Leave a Reply

